Winter Solstice Neolithic Temple

DSC04574Solar reflections over Pen Ponds, Richmond Park

Hail Happy Yule!    The Winter Solstice New Moon in Capricorn astrologically/ astronomically, as the Sun has been waning going lower in the sky, has made the nights seem longer because of the darkness.   Now, the return of the Sun in the northern hemisphere!

It’s cold but beautiful outside in Nature and I love the refreshing wind blowing away the metaphorical cobwebs.  We bring in the evergreens, holly, mistletoe and winter berries to represent the viridescent surge of fruitful life to come.

DSC03995Holy Holly

Inside it’s cosy, as fires and candles are lit both to warm and to symbolise the coming light.    As the Sun begins its gradual half-yearly ascension, it’s time to hibernate a little, and for going inward to reflect, plan and seed new growth.

The ancients were connected to these sacred Earth/Cosmic cycles and advanced civilisations, including the Native Americans and the Cathars, who were persecuted for possessing such gnosis with their ceremonial connection to the Earth,  and their knowledge was taken and hidden.

DSC04673East-facing West Kennet Temple and Long Barrow designed to be flooded with Sunlight/Moonlight

This Winter Solstice I performed a trio of ritual thanks and intent three times in Richmond Park, West Kennet where the Sun and Moon aligns lighting up the western chamber, and again in Richmond Park.

In the tomb, I had the opportunity of 20 minutes alone when no-one else was present.    The acoustics were tremendous and with varying sounds depending upon where I sang.

A virgin scene!–A little while I stood,
Breathing with such suppression of the heart
As joy delights in;
In that sweet mood when pleasure loves to pay
Tribute to ease; and, of its joy secure,
The heart luxuriates with indifferent things,
Wasting its kindliness on stocks and stones,
And on the vacant air.                                                Wordsworth

At 5,650 years old, the east-facing 328 feet long by 8 feet high mound, predates Stonehenge by 400 years and Silbury Hill by 1,000 years.   Both mounds would have been white, of chalk and sarsen stone, so even more clearly noticeable than they are currently, covered in grass.     Excavation presently indicates the 5 chambers in the west, north and south areas were used as burial tombs for only a short time and for only 46 people.        Some report  bones were removed and ground for medicine.   One day we might discover who these people were.

Mary Hardy says that West Kennet (and other henges) were created to generate solitrons (ley lines).        Many also agree that the horn-shaped mound is symbolically phallic in relation to Mother Earth’s rebirthing and is respected for its nourishment of us enabling us to live on this planet.

All who had walked up the misty moor to this ancient stone meeting place participated in ceremonies at the deepest core of the tomb in two hours of drums, Tibetan bowls, didgeridoo, rattling and resonant voices whilst burning Palo Santa.       The land and stones are powerful conductors of the energy and, by the time we’d finished, it was vibrant.     When I looked at my photographs, there were orbs and other light shapes everywhere.

DSC04738End of Ceremony until the next celebration at the entrance

On each journey, (as has occurred on the Winter Solstice), I saw Native Americans and one in particular.   I asked for a name.   Watanka, came the reply.    I had to look up a translation and the general thoughts are: “sacred force”, the spirit which runs through all things.

In gentleness of heart; with gentle hand
Touch–for there is a spirit in the woods.         Ibid

During the morning of the Winter Solstice (23.03 on Sunday in the UK), I visited the chambers and was fortunate to spend 20 minutes there completely alone to do solo ceremony.    The acoustics are tremendous and vary from chamber to chamber.    Peter Knight, who has written about the area, had brought mulled wine to warm us after the singing.

Ring out the old, ring in the new/Ring out the false, ring in the true!

Earth rituals must have been practised here for thousands of years.  The superb influences recur still for us to let go any hold on the old, to release all regrets, resentment, guilt, discouragement or disappointments, that may have occurred during the  year.

Retained vibrations restrict us, repel the resonance of beneficial opportunities and prevent us from becoming our higher, happiest selves.

Dormant forces, faculties and talents come alive, and you discover yourself to be a greater person by far than you ever dreamed yourself to be.    Patanjali born 250 BC

We can, instead, search our hearts for new perspectives on the way we think, behave, respond/react and how we live life in general; walking step in step as we tread our individual path.

Traditionally, it’s also a time to honour the ancestors.   I know how important gratitude and appreciation is in the ebb and flow of conscious life.

Yet, very soon I was to express more gratitude to the fates, to my familial and friends support.    On my return to London, I telephoned my parents just at the moment my Father dropped the phone as I was talking (blackouts caused iatrogenically by two GP medications interacting, the consultant said) and I called the emergency services who went to him nearly 300 miles away, also in time.   An international flurry of communication took place.

Just yesterday, he was able to speak again and this was joy to my heart.  This is the greatest gift for me this Christmas.     The hospital have been wonderful and kept my parents together in the same room.             I thank my Father for being so strong at 85, my Mother for her unfailing love, all my family and very dear friends for their staunch support and assistance in so many ways, the Police who had to break in and the caring Nurses.  I thank The Reiki Network for sending Reiki en masse and I thank all Light Guides.         You all light up my heart and make me smile (and weep a bit with joy and love!)

DSC04734

It’s a beautiful time of year for gathering or being by choice alone.  I celebrate all the festivities.   As long as people are celebrating life together, there can be no discord.   Vibration of joy.    Listen to your inner voice for knowing and speaking your truth with kindness.

May your holy grail cup be replenished.   I wish you deep happiness, hilarity, merriment and lightness of being on this hyemal holiday and a very joyful Christ’s Mass.

It’s a mystical, magical time.  Let’s celebrate every breathing moment.   Peace be restored on Earth.

So mote it be.

With Love Dawn  X

DSC04686Every exit is an entry somewhere.
Tom Stoppard
This entry was posted in Earth Transition, Light, Nature, Sacred sites, Singing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Winter Solstice Neolithic Temple

  1. Andrew says:

    I’m so glad you were there when it mattered for your father, Dawn. I hope he makes a full recovery. Winter Solstice is a big event here. Some rank it ahead of lunar new year in importance of family celebrations. We are returning to Britain next year and i am looking forward to real seasons again. Best wishes, Andrew

    Like

    • Thank you so much, Andrew. He is doing phenomenally well and won’t be still but we think they’ll be at home (with enforced rest) next week, which is amazing. It’s been wonderful to spend each day with them doing what I can, taking in nourishment and a little walk in the Winter Sun. I had to drive back today, watching the Sun as a giant orange rise over the M1. It made me think again of the return of the light at this time. My brother is taking over for a week and I’ll return soon. I can’t wait to see what photos you’ll take when you return to to Britain. Happy relocation and a very joyful 2015.

      Like

      • Andrew says:

        I’m very glad that progress is good, Dawn. But taking time to recover is important however keen to get back to normal we are. I’m looking forward to feeling Winter sun again and maybe hearing some good music. Best wishes for 2015 to you and your family.

        Like

  2. archdeak says:

    Sending love and sincere wishes that your parents make a full recovery from this double set-back in relation to their health. Hope you are coping and that family will be supportive without bringing any other distractions that do not assist the situation. Finally, may your Christmas and New Year be restful despite the situation.

    Like

    • Thank you so much, Andrew. He is doing phenomenally well and won’t be still but we think they’ll be at home (with enforced rest) next week, which is amazing. It’s been wonderful to spend each day with them doing what I can, taking in nourishment and a little walk in the Winter Sun. I had to drive back today, watching the Sun as a giant orange rise over the M1. It made me think again of the return of the light at this time. My brother is taking over for a week and I’ll return soon. I can’t wait to see what photos you’ll take when you return to to Britain. Happy relocation and a very joyful 2015.

      Like

    • My thanks, Archdeak. Things are improving for my Father, but too slowly for him and he’s impatient because he’s always been so active and this virus takes its toll, but he’s determined. Yesterday, I played some arias (on the car stereo as we went to view the Winter Sunshine) and my Mother’s face lit up as we sang them. A woman came to thank us and said it had made her day! All my family has come together so wonderfully which has moved me deeply. Friends, too, have been so thoughtful. I’m not very good at asking for help but it has just been given in countless ways for which I’m so grateful. The loving time with my parents has been precious and I’ll return to see what more I can do asap. I wish you and your family a beautiful 2015.

      Like

Please place your pleasantries here!

