Thanne longen folk to goon on pilgrimages…

So priketh hem nature in hir corages;
Thanne longen folk to goon on pilgrimages
And palmers for so seken straunge strondes
To ferne halwes knowthe in sondry londes;
And specially from every shires ende
Of engelond to caunterbury they wende… 
 

Pilgrimage Trilogy  

1 of 3:  A Yurt in South Devon, A Journey to Myself

 
DSC03953Not mine, but an off-ground, community yurt, circular, Nature has no sharp angles

Samhain Greetings to you all!

Samhain (Summer’s End), often celebrated on the Full Moon in Taurus (6th November) mid-way between the Autumn Equinox and the Winter Solstice; though my moon calendar says Samhain is today at 11.56.

It any case, it’s the Celtic New Year if you observe actual time or Earth transition time, (rather than false-time calendar with its adjustments and misnamed months); a time to honour and remember our ancestors, give thanks for the harvest (pumpkins), and make plans for the next chapter of the Book of Life.

The Catholic Church selected 1 November for one of their saint days some time ago in the 700s AD, thus 31st October became All Hallows Evening which, in entertainment, dressing-up terms is Hallowe’en!

As a sole, soul practitioner, I let my rituals and words of gratitude and intent flow through me in the moment.   I light a bees-wax candle and my own-grown sage smudge sticks, place symbols of my family and fruits/berries of the harvest and I give thanks, amongst the trees; and again in my home, for all that has been, is now and shall be.

In the lead up to this time, I longed (longen) to gaze at the green and to feel even more immersed in the Earth sans disturbances, distractions, interruptions, inbox, traffic and technology.   It was a journey primarily to myself  –  far from The Madding Crowd,  – where the only voice was my own, sometimes singing, at other times conversing with flora, fauna and freely-flowing water.

DSC04067

When from our better selves we have too long
Been parted by the hurrying world, and droop,
Sick of its business, of its pleasures tired
How gracious, how benign, is Solitude;
How potent a mere image of her sway;
Most potent when impressed upon the mind
With an appropriate human centre – hermit,
Deep in the bosom of the wilderness; 
         
                                        The Prelude, Book Fourth, Summer Vacation Wordsworth 1888
 

So I took my nomadic self to 42 acres of wild woodland and perma-culture.   The first part of my Chaucerian personal pilgrimage began not to Canterbury, (nor in “that Aprille with his shoures soote”) but to Devon in October in a secluded yurt (not “glamping” –  clear, sweet spring water is hand-pumped from a bore-hole, wood fire lit, compost loo in next field) in a small, remote eco community, amidst rolling hills and forests, with cosy benders and other wonderful, earthed, grounded, green canvas covered structures in the neighbouring, nourishing fields –  far from negative, cell-damaging electromagnetic fields.

DSC03957

Below was the first sight I saw each morn upon opening my doors.   Such exhilarating exultation!

DSC03921
A freshness also found I at this time
In human Life, the daily life of those
Whose occupations really I loved;
The peaceful scene oft filled me with surprise
Changed like a garden in the heat of spring                        Ibid
 

In London, we’re overrun with squirrels who plant oak trees in my window boxes, wily reynards that laze in the road and fix their foxy eyes right back at you;  wild birds such as 17 magpies recently, one of which out-stared a fox on the tennis lawns; parakeets whose screeching cacophony we can more happily live without; green peregrine falcons keeping the parakeet population plummeting;  and various birds from the Wetlands flying past.

From my yurt, however, my guests each evening were these beautiful Golden Guernsey goats with the comforting melody of their bells, as they came past for milking!

On my first evening, the doe matriarch came over directly to introduce herself to take a good look at me and, being satisfied, went back off to her drove.    To see these lovely animals or a bronze and red autumnal grouse walk directly past my open doors whilst  I was preparing my evening fire, was an uplifting rapture indeed!

 

Although mostly by choice alone, I found the people each extremely embracing who enjoyed explaining to me how things worked there.      The children of varying ages I met were an absolute joy to behold!

Their open, smiling faces, sparkling eyes and interested, engaging conversation were delightful.    I noticed how alert they were, how astutely they listened, eagerly responding, e.g. about the species I’d just mentioned, by turning immediately to the specific page of their wildlife books, the contents of which they were clearly exceptionally knowledgeable about.    They were free, no fearful screaming or distress – just a keen discovery and divine love of life.   It’s what makes healthy, well-balanced, content adults.

This is the result of living with Nature’s flow, valuing its produce, home-schooling, non-regimented learning, the absence of noise/brain bombardment and no tv (mind) programming inhibiting development of young minds.   (The antithesis, on my return, of some children near Hammersmith  who, from their concrete balcony, pelted passers-by with eggs. “The price of everything and the value of nothing,” sprang to mind.)

Such happy lives living in the fresh air, discovering what matters, playing on wooden adventure frames or running in the fields.     No sea of toxic plastic toys being inhaled here, no preoccupied heads bowed over the materialistic mobile phone god or mind-controlling computer games.       These children are entirely in the present moment and very much with me.      This made me so happy to see and the utmost pleasure to engage with them.    All children should have the opportunity of living this way.

DSC04032

Even the old, thatched cottages of Engelond, on my leafy journeys through happy hamlets, are curved (though the light not so photographically agreeable):

DSC04046

Pretty cottages on the way to the hamlet of  Tuckenhay
Thus musing, in a wood I sate me down
Alone, continuing there to muse                Ibid
 
 

DSC04047I am so elated at seeing moss!   Utterly besotted, in fact.   It grows in some of my window boxes and I love it.    My Celtic origins, perhaps.

DSC04028

DSC04055Some of the chestnuts I collected on my mossy, woodland walk

I took lots of raw foods with me and collected herbs for hot infusions and ate yellow gorse flowers growing about 3 feet from where I slept.

DSC03510Raw cranberry/pistachio breads, raw hummus, just off the tree fruits  

These deliciously plump rose-hips below with their perfect star.   It was the first of two occasions on my crusade I was able to see both flower and fruit bloom at the same time.

A universe of Nature’s fairest forms
Proudly revealed with instantaneous burst                 Ibid.
 
DSC03973Plump wild rose-buds with their flower
My home for four days, a 16 foot diameter yurt, wooden structure with canvas; interior: beautiful fabrics and carpets, and containing everything I needed.
DSC03939

Amongst the goats, hens, India Runner Ducks, dogs, a heavenly soft, big-eyed, lion-head rabbit, there were semi-feral Dartmoor ponies who are, sadly, very much in decline.

These beauties below were rescue ponies  (whose passports to France had luckily not been in order –  now in exceptionally good hands indeed): Mother May in the background; and Grace responding to my Reiki sending, her eyes closing – I’ve noticed cats and squirrels respond this way with Reiki.

Grace is also recovering from eating grass too enthusiastically producing a painful, gout-like condition. Unlike their hybrid, thoroughbred counterparts, these wild ponies often fast for several days on the moorland.

DSC03936

 Dartmoor pony, named Grace, receiving Reiki through me

DSC04306

Marmalade cat in a crab apple tree receptive to Reiki

Not forgetting a vital member of the land management team below.

I came upon this beautiful, blue-black, glossy fellow and his friend by chance during a postprandial, evening woodland walk as the comforting aroma of wood-fires wafted across the fields.

No Reiki given here.  It was becoming chilly and dusk, so I quickly handed a small snack I had in my pocket, but he remained on fully-focused eager alert for more!

DSC03989Essential Land Management Guardian

With full-force Earth energy blessings to you.

Dawn, Paganus in Devon

Back I cast a look,
And lingered near the door a little space,
Then sought with quiet heart my distant home.                 Ibid
 
DSC03929DSC03931Tomorrow: The Isle of Avalon
 
This entry was posted in Earth Transition, Foraging, Lunar, Nature, Oxygen!, RAW FOODS, Reiki, Trees, Wild Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanne longen folk to goon on pilgrimages…

  1. yourfriendalwaysjoe says:

    What a lovely trip! Thanks for sharing and those photos are wonderful! Makes you want to be there! Makes me feel warm and fuzzy all over! Thank you very much for sharing! Planning any tours soon? I would love to go!
    -JB

    Like

Please place your pleasantries here!

