Forbidden Fruits and Sweet Roses

Serotinal Greetings!

DSC00322

It’s been extraordinarily Summery in Londinium in between the heavy storms which is making the ground so soft and moist (orgone conductive) to walk barefoot upon.

Someone asked me if I’m afraid of germs on the ground.  I replied that I’m concerned about potential diseases if I don’t connect with Earth.      Such relief to be grounded, DNA commingled, re-entwined with Nature; I could stay barefoot all day.     Rubber soles create rubber souls!     Say “hello, hello (I don’t know why you say goodbye)” to the beetles!

URBAN FORAGERS TAKE CARE THOUGH!

There are concerns in green urban spaces, I’ve discovered.   The beautiful fruits below are my Father’s garden organic – crisp, sweet and lovely, direct from the tree – as most food, ideally, might be eaten.  Bliss!  (The insatiable starlings gobbled the cherries!)

DSC00189Last year in Dukes Meadows, I watched with delight as volunteer children and adults planted fruit trees across the fields.     Each time I walked past, I enjoyed the progressive proliferation of the trees who now bear fruit collected by passers-by.

However, I recently saw that all the grass had been annihilated from underneath each group of trees.      To my horror, notices announced that the ground had been poisoned with herbicide!     DSC00327Why?    To get rid of the grass to plant a wildflower meadow……

Instead of contaminating the Earth, they could have just used the same spades with which they planted the tree saplings, and dug up the grass.    Then  add Grochar (Craig Sams), organic, sustainable soil improver to encourage germination.     I despair.     The second point,  is why plant meadow flowers where they’ll be trampled – when people will want to access the fruit to eat it?         Has there been any ecological (or logical?) thought behind this?  DSC00332

“.. two treatments of herbicide.   The herbicide is approved for use in public parks and is the same as that used by the council…”

RANT…

WHAT?!   Don’t we have enough pollution, chemtrails and radiation to contaminate the environment?    (There are Soil Association permitted chemicals such formaldehyde in ready-made sea-weed garden feed.  I make up my own.)      Or sufficient defiled tap water with skeletal-softening, cell-hardening  fluoride; and denatured food.    “Organic,” free range eggs are from chicks vaccinated at birth which is EU ruling  stall-holders tell me, unless you keep your own.   25 years on, I’m still asking sheeps/goats cheese sellers not to use xenoestrogen, gender-bending, carcinogenic cling film.     Yes, I only want unpasteurised but are the goats allowed to roam?   Not in all cases.   No Vitamin K or sunlight.

How long will we even have the farmers market option instead of the Stepford Wife Stupormarkets?  Dr Gabriel Cousens has urged US citizens to write, reporting that: “The FDA’s new food safety rules have the real potential to force some of the nation’s safest local and organic farms out of business!”

People have been removed from farming and self-sufficiency for a long time: the Industrial Age in Britain, in Pakistan people are being encouraged to work in the towns instead of growing rice; corn growers in areas of South America ditto, the Native Americans were forced to farm instead of eating wild foods; and I think “The Dust Bowl” in the US and the potato famine in Ireland – were to create workforces forced to buy their goods in shops, no longer living off the land, alongside Nature.   Neil Young, Willie Nelson and John Mellencamp have been doing Farm Aid concerts since 1985 to support agriculture because of the burden placed on family farmers.

“Herbicide, larvicide, pesticide, fungicide, suicide!”  lovely David Avocado Wolfe

None of these artificial chemicals is recognised by the body, so they disrupt the biochemical processes in the form of hormonal disturbance leading to severe brain/body malfunction.

Invisible toxins (obesogens/xenoestrogens) cause cell alteration and deterioration: from overweight, arthritis, Alzheimers and worse.    

As a forager of all things wild and woody, for infusions, tinctures, packs (e.g. a shoulder tendon injury) salads and juices – my main concerns would be the chemicals I avoid like the plague elsewhere.      So I’ve been asking gardeners in urban green havens such as Margravine, Holland Park etc what exactly is used.     I’ve seen a masked sprayer of what I assume is herbicide along the edge of  Queens Club fences to remove “weeds” which is where urban herbicide is largely used i.e. at the edges of pathways and pesticide on nursery plants before planting to kill aphids.

Much better to invest in irrigation (we had a minor drought in London this year) organic nourishing feed and in heirloom, heritage, ancestral plants which are non GMO and without the inherited poisons.

DSC09855

NEVERTHELESS, LOVELY THINGS MAY STILL BE FOUND SAFELY WITH THOUGHTFULNESS AND JOY

DSC00319Giving visual delight to the eye;  recalling sweet Mediaeval reminiscences to the nose and dewy moisture to the cheek, these exquisite (unsprayed) roses also provide healing, nutritious rosehips!

No wonder the rose is a symbol of the Art of Love.  Shiny, plump rosehips, (high in botanical Vitamin C) from a very old plant, have been increasingly abundant since August;  picked in “The Garden of Love!” (from the allegorical dream vision poem, Le Romaunt de la Rose, Guillaume de Lorris c 1225).

The Romance of the Rose it is, and it enfolds
Within its compass all the Art of Love.

DSC00109

With the ideal conditions of sun and rain, fresh crops of chickweed, cleavers, plantain, dandelion leaves and nettles are growing as verdantly as if in Spring; for juicing, tinctures or infusions.

There are many elder trees where I’d picked the elder flowers along the river (please see previous post ‘Between Nine Elders’).     The blue-black berries, Sambucus nigra, make wonderful immune protection and healing in daily, Winter tinctures.

We have to be very fast to collect the berries, though, because the pidgeons consume them voraciously!      However, Elda Mor allowed me two trees with just enough berries left that I could reach, to make one jar of elderberry tincture with very good brandy.   (Herbalists often recommend 100 proof vodka because the water in it extracts the water soluble nutrients from the berries.)

Song of the Rose, Sappho, Greek Poetess (630-570 BCE)

translated by Elizabeth Barrett Browning

If Zeus chose us a King of the flowers in his mirth,
He would call to the rose, and would royally crown it;
For the rose, ho, the rose! is the grace of the Earth,
Is the light of the plants that are growing upon it!
For the rose, ho, the rose! is the eye of the flowers,
Is the blush of the meadows that feel themselves fair,
Is the lightning of beauty that strikes through the bowers
On pale lovers that sit in the glow unaware
Ho, the rose breathes of love! ho, the rose lifts the cup
To the red lips of Cypris invoked for a guest!
Ho, the rose having curled its sweet leaves for the world
Takes delight in the motion its petals keep up,
As they laugh to the wind as it laughs from the west.
 

Nourish and Love this divine, living, breathing Earth as we do our children, for she is our Mother.    Healing foraging and with Love, Dawn XDSC00202

This entry was posted in Foraging, Juices, Nature, Trees and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Forbidden Fruits and Sweet Roses

  1. socialbridge says:

    Lovely post! Thank you.

    Like

  2. Andrew says:

    A very enjoyable and thoughtful post, Dawn. My father was a rose grower and I enjoyed them immensely when I had my own garden. They don’t do well here in HK sadly. Song of the Rose is beautiful.

    Like

  3. Andrew says:

    BTW, I have constant arguments with the chap who does the heavy gardening for me. He sees plants half stripped by caterpillars and wants to spray everything. I refuse. I like butterflies and moths and the birds like caterpillars. A small price to pay. Let it be!

    Like

  4. Thank you, Andrew. Your flora and fauna photographs are always amazing – and those watchful eyes of that young soul looking out measurably at the world, beautiful! I feel the same as you about the eco system. Sprays impact all our relations and there gentle are ways of deterring where desired, plant combining is one. I only have window boxes but they are packed with growth and I leave 3 feet chive and red clover flowers ready to topple until the very last minute, because the bees visit me regularly and I love to watch them up close and see pollen on their legs. Their back legs rise up in the larger flowers as they dip right in as though they are doing a hand stand! “It’s been a good year for the roses…” My Father recently said as sang Elvis Costello!

    Like

  5. Hi Dawn,

    Thank you once again for such an informative, eloquent and beautiful blog.

    I also like spending time in our natural spaces (like Chiswick house gardens) and I guess I expect those spaces to be safe havens; to breathe in clear air and let nature heal with bounty and beauty.

    It’s important to be aware of what is going on in our safe havens (all good and not-so-good!)

    Thank you also for your Rose pictures, and your Song of the Rose! Roses are my favourite flower. While I was incapacitated for a year, I put Roses in vases around the flat and they helped me heal.

    Kim

    Like

  6. My thanks, Kim. Roses in vases, how lovely: such is the immeasurable power of Nature to heal us. x

    Like

  7. rassilonsrod says:

    That’s awful what they did to the grass under the trees. If you want to plant other stuff, you dig the grass up, you don’t poison the ground!!!!

    I love the autumnal leaf pictures and the fruit! 🙂

    Like

Please place your pleasantries here!

