Wild and Free!

That’s both being wild and free and eating of the wild and free!    

Further to my earlier posts about wild, foraged foods, I spent a wonderful afternoon in Hampstead Heath learning about more wild greens and flowers safe to eat.    As the most basic requirement to  living is breathing in oxygen (especially near trees), being outdoors is essential each day, so this was a joy of combined activities.   Nibbling on the rich buds,  leaves and flowers of plants that have not been hybridised (and thus distanced from our DNA sequence – trees have similar DNA to ours)  is always an uplifting experience.   

A few of the things I’d been eating for over 50 years like pisse au lit as the French call it or dandelion and “sticky bud” (cleavers from the coffee family); plantain (I used to pull it at the stem and use the strings and pretend to play a guitar or violin!) – this grows everywhere.   My Mother told me they called hawthorne  “bread and cheese” and that they used to eat it, too,   I also ate white and purple clover flowers – I noticed the bees seemed to like it a lot!

Each day, I like to have a bit of wild with my organic along with something from my window boxes, like Chocolate Mint, Coriander, Sorrel, that I’ve grown myself from seed and my own saliva.   I don’t use urine therapy in my window boxes (I think the neighbours and members of the Queen’s Club might object!), but urine on compost heaps is an age-old tradition in biodynamic crop growing.    Putting seeds into your mouth prior to planting shares with them your DNA information and returns this to you with a balancing, healing vibration when you eat the grown plant.     One of the reasons for all of us to grow at least some of our own food.    Another is, of course, with our hands in the Earth, we are grounding ourselves from the electrical cages (EMFs) in which most of us live; and the surrounding radiation fields.

I also give my plants Reiki as well as feed them 75 Plant Minerals (see top of the page) and you only need a very small amount.   One pot of 75 powdered minerals feeds several fields of crops easily.      All my plants and herbs thrive.

But learning new things I can safely eat was absolutely wonderful – and delicious!  Chris Hope,  BSc (Hons) Med Hort (his book will be published in the Autumn www.ipsophyto.com ) gave a phenomenal tour of telling, tasting, ancient folklore, medicinal healing knowledge and poulticing – and lot more besides. 

There’s more diversity in the UK than anywhere in the world per landmass, so we have so much from which to choose.      I ate lime tree leaft buds, wild comfrey (purple flowers), a peeled stem which was just like  cucumber, white dead nettle, shepherd’s purse was delicious (tiny heart shaped leaves filled with seeds – used during the war to stop bleeding wounds, also used for menorrhagia), red clover (whose seeds I like to sprout with broccoli seeds in my kitchen) long known for its benefits during menopause.   

We learned horse chestnut is good for varicose veins if you have them; and black horehound (Ballota nigra, scientific name – thanks for correction, Chris!) is from the mint family and makes a good cough medicine. It’s illegal to pick cowslips, apparently.   When I was a child my Father said: “What made the cowslip?   Because it saw the bulrush!”   

After our wonderful sojourn with La Belle Verte (see earlier post for the film link), when I got home, I juiced all my foraged greens and flowers with a lemon, apple and pear.    Such aliveness, consciousness and connection! 

This is only a very brief summary of what we consumed.    There’s an infinite world to discover and it’s wise to learn from someone like Chris.

As I was taught growing up, Nature has provided us with everything we need.   As readers of ths blog know, my feeling has always been that the more in tune we are with Nature, the more aligned we are with our own nature.    Then we can tune into the right plants that are appropriate for us at any given time.

Bright yellow gorse flowers can be used sparingly to decorate cakes and, as a plant,  it fertilises all surrounding plants. 

It is said that as long as the gorse blooms there is still love in the world!   Here it is blooming lovely!   To quote Susun Weed, Green Blessings!  x

This entry was posted in 75+ Plant MInerals, Foraging, Juices, Nature, Oxygen!, RAW FOODS, Trees, WHOLE BEING HEALTH, Wild Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please place your pleasantries here!

