Genius loci

Greetings on the Grand Trine zenith, the Ides of March tomorrow and Nature’s branches are beginning to be laden with early blossoms to fill the senses!

one of those March days when the sun shines hot and the wind blows cold: when it is summer in the light, and winter in the shade.   Charles Dickens

I’ve been away for five March days for some very much needed deep Earth communion.    I’ve been fortunate to visit my parents and to be able to wander lonely as a cloud, far from the madding crowd across my favourite moors on springy, mossy, vivid earth, reviving my lungs, oxygenating my blood and every organ to which it flows, grounding my electrified (fried) energy; connecting to the blue orgone and Earth vibration for which our insulated, rubber soled (souled) bodies long!    The light on the moorland enhances the vast vistas which are so welcome to the eyes and it intensifies the colours and smells, which are glorious to inhale!   (Such a contrast to rapidly moving images, traffic noise, pollution, urgency.)     Sometimes I didn’t see a soul, not even an Old Leech Gatherer*!

There was snow on the first day and this is looking up to Carlton Bank, North Yorkshire Moors, which is about 408 m (1,339 ft)feet giving a 360 degree view from the summit, towards the sea and Roseberry Topping  (my next raw tart will be named after it if I can forage some “roseberries”!).   It has a curved pointed peak that caved in due to combination of a geological fault and a mining collapse in 1912.  Carlton Moor is part of the 107-mile walk: The Cleveland Way.   The purple heather will be in bloom in a few months.

The interesting coil shape on this stone may once have been part of a highly advanced circuit of energy as an ancient sound system, as these carvings and spirals on rocks seem to have been; or has been placed on a serpent-like ley line connecting sacred sites across countries.   However, I know this stone and it used to lie elsewhere, so this particular semi circle has only recently been created.    I do hope it has been arranged with geopathic expertise, though.      In any case, the genius loci of this moorland always been highly restorative and a magical place for me; and perhaps these stones represent its protective guardian spirit.

 Some walkers and I stood looking at the now boarded up Lord Stones Cafe (left) built into the hillside which was sold last year to be made into a hotel (in keeping I trust).  The end of an era.

 

 

 

Extract from The Leech-Gatherer  or, Resolution and Independence   

William Wordsworth

All things that love the sun are out of doors;
The sky rejoices in the morning’s birth;
The grass is bright with rain-drops; -on the moors
The Hare is running races in her mirth;
And with her feet she from the plashy earth
Raises a mist; that, glittering in the sun,
Runs with her all the way, wherever she doth run.

But, as it sometimes chanceth, from the might
Of joy in minds that can no further go,
As high as we have mounted in delight
In our dejection do we sink as low,
To me that morning did it happen so;
And fears and fancies thick upon me came;
Dim sadness -and blind thoughts, I knew not, nor could name.

I heard the Skylark warbling in the sky;
And I bethought me of the playful Hare:
Even such a happy Child of earth am I;
Even as these blissful creatures do I fare;
Far from the world I walk, and from all care;

Now, whether it were by peculiar grace,
A leading from above, a something given,
Yet it befell that, in this lonely place,
When I with these untoward thoughts had striven,
Beside a pool bare to the eye of heaven
I saw a Man before me unawares:
The oldest man he seemed that ever wore grey hairs.

As a huge Stone is sometimes seen to lie
Couched on the bald top of an eminence;
Wonder to all who do the same espy,
By what means it could thither come, and whence;
So that it seems a thing endued with sense:

The Old-man still stood talking by my side;
But now his voice to me was like a stream
Scarce heard; nor word from word could I divide;
And the whole Body of the Man did seem
Like one whom I had met with in a dream;
Or like a man from some far region sent,
To give me human strength, by apt admonishment.

This entry was posted in HEALING, Love, Nature, Oxygen!, RAW FOODS, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please place your pleasantries here!

